Updates from the #NepalEarthquake from someone on the ground!

Thoughts are with World Vision Australia staff member Matt Darvas today as he heads to one of the hardest hit areas by #nepalearthquake. Matt is in the heart of the epicentre near Gorkha and heading to the most remote villages in this region to offer supplies and support.

Donations can be made here to support the efforts of crews on the ground: 

Driving into Gorkha

Driving into Gorkha

You can hear him speaking on BBC radio about his experience in Pokhara. My team and I were there less than a month ago. A peaceful lakeside town now over run with casualties from this disaster.

“The ground shook for 3 minutes” @mdarvas descibes the aftershocks in Pokharabbc.in/1EFiywH #Nepalquake

Pokhara one month ago.

Pokhara one month ago.

Just can’t believe the destruction in ‪#‎Nepal‬‪#‎durbarsquare‬ ‪#‎patan‬yesterday. I was there in 2006. See the bell…. Now look around … Support @worldvisionaus to get aid to ‪#‎Nepalquake‬ ‪#‎nepalearthquake‬https://emergencies.worldvision.com.au/…

durbar

I’ve been watching news and updates all day and it’s starting to really affect me now the severity of the situation. The reality of the devastation that people are living through is inconceivable. I stood in these locations a few weeks ago… and now these places are rubble. The death told is 3200 and counting. To hear from friends today living through this turmoil is heartbreaking.

We can do something, we can donate and support non profit organisations on the ground to provide relief and supplies to those most in need:

Donate Nepal Earthquake Appeal

shock

Some updates from Matt today:

Tune in for interviews today with updates from the situation in Nepal‪#‎Nepalearthquake‬. Some may broadcast LIVE or be included in a later news bulletin.

8:15am Nepal time, 12.30pm AEST – Eternity – Australian Christian newsonline interview

9:15 Nepal Time, 1.30pm AEST Sky News Australia

10:45 Nepal Time, 3pm AEST – Radio 2UE

11:30 Nepal Time, 3.45pm 702 ABC Sydney

//::—-

PM Schedule

12:45 PM Nepal Time, 5pm AEST ABC Statewide Drive Victoria

Follow Matt on Twitter @mdarvas

About Emma Lovell

My name is Emma and I'm a busy gal. Owner and Director of Lovelly Communications, I specialise in marketing and social media promotions. I also run a business called Lovelly Pet Sitters, we care for pets as if they are our own. Somehow, I also find plenty of time to travel! Blessed to run businesses that give me the freedom to follow my true passion, travel! I'm happiest when I'm having new experiences. Whether it's a new cafe down the road, a bucket list item like Everest Base Camp or seeing friends in another city, I truly love travelling! So please join me in my many adventures across my many sites. And please do contact me for information on any of the above! View all posts by Emma Lovell

One response to “Updates from the #NepalEarthquake from someone on the ground!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: